The Golden Apples of the Sun Radio Show

Radio Show – 8 April 2018 – Episode 367
April 15, 2018, 2:52 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Em Burrows: “I’ll be hosting Golden Apples of the Sun today with my dear friend Rhien Tan of Shy Panther. We first bonded over a mutual love of 60s psych-folk-rock (and English tv shows) and Rhien has since mixed and produced Invisible Seams and is currently working on my next record. Nobody listens to more music than this guy and I cannot wait to hear what he picks for this show!”

Show-restream here   –  select 8 April


Neu – Weissensee

Suzanne Ciani – Clean Room ‘ITT TV Spot’

Tangerine Dream – Stratosfear (7″ Single Edit)

Midlife – Phase

Mohammed Nouri – Ba Bare Safar Bebandeem

Magnetic Mind – In Silence

The Dandelion – I Stole the Medicine Man

Satan’s Pilgrims – Dilation

Jane Weaver – Your Time in this Life is Just Temporary

The Superimposers – Seeing is Believing

Giles and Fripp – I Talk to the Wind

Lake Ruth – Greenfield Industrialist

Shy Panther – Bernard

Paul McCartney – Distractions (Demo)

The High Llamas – Dorothy Ashby

Life on Earth – Come Closer

The Cardigans – Iron Man

Michael Rault – Sleep With Me

Visions – Oriental Sunshine

Googoosh – Digeh Geryeh Delo Va Nemikoneh

Fairport Convention – Crazy Man Michael

Trees – Murdoch

Pentangle – Jack Orion


Radio Show – 26 November 2017 – Episode 348
December 2, 2017, 6:30 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Em Burrows presents some summer sounds and other things….

Show re-stream here (select 26 Nov)


Totally Mild – Today Tonight

Lake Ruth – Dry Salt in our Hair

Tudor Lodge – Willow Tree

Tangerine Dream – Summer in Nagasaki

Lonnie Liston Smith – Summer Nights

Rotary Connection – I Am the Black Gold of the Sun

Brian Bennett – Solstice

Gian Franco Reverberi – Dust Storm

Air – Le Soleil Est Pres De Moi

Morcheeba – The Sea

The Doors – Summer’s Almost Gone

The Soundcarriers – There Only Once

Garden Gate – Saturn

Long Body – Stay Vacation

Kraftwerk – Morgenspaziergang

Electronic System – Skylab

Charlie Dore – Here Comes the Sun

Syd Arthur – Ode (Summer is Leaving Me Behind (Amorphous Androgynous Mix)

Traffic – Paper Sun

Fairport Convention – Sun Shade

Brian Jonestown Massacre – Let’s Pretend That It’s Summer

Ariel Pink – Another Weekend

Jacco Gardner – Summer’s Game

Fairport Convention – End of A Holiday

Radio Show – 16 July 2017 – Episode 329
July 30, 2017, 8:18 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Em Burrows musician and resident subject matter expert of the The Golden Apples who knows the difference between psych and psychedelia curates Episode 329 celebrating women of psych across many music realms. Tune in and re-stream some otherworldly sounds…

Re-stream here (Select 16 July)


Lake Ruth and Listening Center – Monstre Sacre

Stereolab – Chemical Chords

Broadcast- I Found the F

Black Mountain – Druganaut

The Soundcarriers – There Only Once

Rotary Connection feat Minnie Riperton – I Am the Black Gold of the Sun

Springtime Carnivore – Low Clouds

Apricot Rail – Dore Strauch

Death and Vanilla – Follow The Light – Where The Wild Things Grow

Kikagaku Moyo – Kogarashi

Le Super Homard – Maple Key

Jefferson Airplane – Crown of Creation

Warpaint – Set Your Arms Down

Jane Weaver – Slow Motion

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – An Intention

Build An Ark – The Yes Song

Lesley Duncan – Love Song

Pentangle – Lyke Wake Dirge

Cate Le Bon – Sisters

Fotheringay – Gypsy Davey

Rose Windows – Wanton Song

Moody Beach – All I Do

Melody’s Echo Chamber – Bisou Magique

The Black Angels – Bad Vibrations

Lake Ruth – The Greenfield Industrialist

The Magnetic Mind – The Mumbai Firefly

It Was Only Acid, Your Honour: In Defence of Psychedelia


Make sure you check out the article on psychedelia in The Wall of Sound written by Em Burrows of the Golden Apples where Em confirms the jury is out (of it).

Includes some essential psych recommendations and you can check them all out with direct ‘linkage’ provided right here…

Em Burrows Recommends
Lake Ruth – The Inconsolable Jean Claude
Wolf People – Silbury Sands
The GOASTT – Animals
Syd Arthur – Garden of Time
Causa Sui – Juju Blues
Broadcast – You Can Fall

Allison Brice Recommends
Margareta Juvan & Can – I’m Hiding My Nightingale
Bruno Nicolai – Razionale
Rotary Connection – I Am the Black Gold of the Sun
Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith & Suzanne Ciani – Closed Circuit
The Soundcarriers – Boiling Point

Claude Mono Recommends
Oasis – Falling Down (A Monstrous Psychedelic Bubble Mix)
Gnod & White Hills – Drop Out
The Cosmic Dead – The White Rabbit
Our Solar System – At the Edge of Time
Tame Impala – Elephant (Todd Rundgren Remix)
Yuya Uchida & the Flowers – I’m Dead


Radio Show – 11 September 2016 – Episode 286
September 18, 2016, 8:26 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,



Impeccably credentialed purveyor of original and new psychedelic sounds Em Burrows presents this edition of the Golden Apples

Listen Here – select 11 Sep


Kikagaku Moyo – Kogarashi

Broadcast – Unchanging Window

Rose Windows – Wanton Song

The Dandelion – Daddy Long Legs

Golden Dawn – This Way Please

Richard in Your Mind – 4 Leaf Clover Salad

The Babe Rainbow – Planet Rainbow

Syd Arthur – Willow Tree

Foxygen – Shuggie

The Small Faces – Tin Soldier

White Fence – Chairs in the Dark

Temples – Move With the Season

Cate Le Bon – I’m A Dirty Attic

Trees – Fool

Brian Jonestown Massacre – Anemone

Kikagaku Moyo – Green Sugar

The Dandelion – Stole the Medicine Man

Cream – White Room

Trifle – New Religion

Wolf People – All Returns

Causa Sui – Ju Ju Blues

Traffic – John Barleycorn