The Golden Apples of the Sun Radio Show

Radio Show – 24 February 2013 – Episode 107
February 25, 2013, 1:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Layout 1

Another in the summer series of guest curator editions. This week following months of coercion and cajoling over pints of Guiness across the road at the Flying Scotsman pub the Golden Apples is very excited as impresario, music lover,  long time friend of RTR FM and all around good guy Pete Carrol selects the sounds. Pete has a deep love for all types of music and his selection for this show is, as expected, diverse and wonderful… sit back and enjoy a musical love-lesson…

Read about Pete Carrol in a nice bio by Christina Ballico over at Isolated Sounds here

Listen Here


Funk Tank – Bebop Began With Jazz

Johnny Jenkins – Walk On Gilded Splinters

Johnny Otis – California Hash

Soundlab – Funky Man

Axiom Funk – If 6 Was 9

Kaleidescope – Egyptian Gardens

Shuggie Otis – Sweet Thang

Gary Farr- Time Machine

Bomb The Bass – Track not written down (whoops – it was good)

John Cale and Brian Eno              – Carmen Miranda

Fila Brazillia – Climbing Up The Walls

Durutti Column – Otis

Cocteau Twins – Lorelei

Tim Buckley – Wings

Television – Glory

Crazy Horse – Dirty Dirty

Karen Dalton – Katie Cruel

Fairport Convention – Book Song

Marc Benno – Hall St Jive

John Martyn – Dream By The Sea

Neil Young – The Loner

Byrds – Wasn’t Born To Follow

Patti Smith – Track not written down (whoops – it was good)


Radio Show – 17 February 2013 – Episode 106
February 25, 2013, 12:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,
The Eternals

The Eternals

As part of the Golden Apples Summer Series of guest curator appearances this week DJ Microgroove of the legendary Soulsides show is joined by local musician Brother G to present a special edition of the Golden Apples. Microgroove seriously knows his music and he knows how to take you on a journey – with Brother G’s co-selection expect an on the money journey from the deepest of psych to the kookiest of beats – what we mean here is tracks from Italian prog bands from the early 70s as sampled by Cut Chemist through to the latest craziness from The Eternals and along the way Captain Beefheart,  Mooddog and the Beastie Boys

… enjoy this trip… and it is a trip…

Listen Here


Beastie Boys – Pop Your Balloon – 45
Ravi Shankar – Charly Theme – Charly
Manhattan Street Band – Seven is the Wind – The Crossing
Alain Goraguer – La Femme – La Planete Sauvage
Jose Feliciano – River Song – Memphis Menu
Captain Beefheart & his Magic Band Autumn’s Child – Safe as Milk
Gabor Szabo – Walking On Nails – Jazz Raga
The Orient Express – Azaar – The Orient Express
Moondog – Big Cat – Snaketime Series
Moondog- Frog Bog – Snaketime Series
Ronn Forella – Sculptures – Moves!
Shawn Phillips – Steel Eyes – Second Contribution
Donovan – The Love Song – Barabajagal
Hysear Don Walker – Dear Prudence – Complete Expressions
Dr John – Loop Garoo – The Night Tripper
Oki – Utawaskarap – Music from the Tea Lands
Brian Auger & the Trinity – Red Beans and Rice – Definitely What!
Andy Ford – Lovelectric – The Yin Yang Room
Purple Behaviour – Ode To The Mulberry Tree – Jamming With Angels
The Eternals – The Floods – Approacing the Energy Fields
Linda Cohen – Zambra – Approaching The Energy Fields
Richie Havens – Boots & Spanish Leather – Electric Havens
Paul Weller – The Pebble & the Boy- As Is Now
The Group – The Feedback- Psych Funk 101
Hollins And Starr -Home – Sidewalks Talking
Ursula Rucker/The Roots – Phrentrow (portion of the song) – Phrenology

New RTRFM website
February 15, 2013, 9:41 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

RTRFM the home of The Golden Apples of the Sun Radio Show has just had some well deserved website renovations – things are looking very nice.

Lots of interesting things on the new site including a shop, richer playslists with more info, videos and other links and even presenter profiles for some of the elusive rarely seen Golden Apples collective.

Check out

presenters edit


radio show – 12 February 2013 – episode 105
February 15, 2013, 9:29 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Mark Davies takes you on a musical journey that looks at the wonders available at the Perth International Festival with the likes of Dead can Dance, Sleepy Sun and God Speed you Black Emperor. We check out local experimental electronic acts such as Kucka and Mental Powers and wander as far afield as Germany for some classic Kraut rock action and even touch down in Brazil to see what the natives have been up to. All this and much more.

dead can dance

Listen Here


Dead can Dance – Kiko – Anastasis
Om – Addis – Adviatic songs
Efrim Mauel Menuck – Our lady of park extension – Plays High Gospel
Sleepy Sun – Marina – Fever
Wooden Shiips – Wiking Stew (AKA Red Krayola-ing) Sonic Boom remix – 12.49
Sun Araw, M.Geddes and the Congos – Invocation – Icon give thanks
Kucka – Rewind – Fire and Wood
Mental Powers – Europeanist – Pro bono
Tropa Macaca – Ectoplasma – Ectoplasma EP
AKRON / FAMILY – Creatures – Set em wild, set em free
Devandra Banhart – Fur Hidegard Von Bingen – Single
Mt.Eerie – The Intimacy – Song Islands vol.2 Collected rarities and singles
Can – Flow motion – A Monstrous Psychedelic bubble
Iblis – High Life – Deutsche Elektronische Musik
John Cale – Vampire Café – Shifty adventures in nooky wood
Wooden Wand – Mountain – Death seat
King Creoste – Feb 29th – It turned out for the best

February 10, 2013, 1:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

“England’s answer to Tame Impala” – SHINDIG

Radio Show – 3 February 2013 – Episode 104
February 6, 2013, 10:56 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

diger rokwell 2 filtered


with Special Guest


…Local Producers in the House…

Live Performance + Magical Music Selections

Listen Here
ylem filtered 1

February 2, 2013, 10:43 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:


Neotantrik are Andy Votel, Andy Rushton and Sean Canty


… as discovered at The Sound Awareness Blog